Posted by: bullyforme | August 11, 2009

Mann, oh Mann

aimee

Do you know how some things seem like exquisite delicacies to some and ho-hum or even unbearable to others? Kind of like pate’ or sushi. You know, some people might say, “Oh, sushi/pate’, I’ve died and gone to heaven,” while others think, “Raw fish/goose livers, don’t seagulls eat that?”

Well, I believe that singer/songwriter Aimee Mann is in the same category. She’s sushi, pate’, tattoos, Manny Ramirez…she’s wonderful, but not universal. She’s absolutely exquisite in her own way and yet many people just don’t get her.

I’ve long held that Aimee is the foremost talented songwriter in the world today. She’s got the rhythm, she’s got the rhyme, she’s got the hook, the deep thoughts, the humor. She is heavily influenced by the Beatles (you can deny it Aimee, but if you were any more so, you’d have to change your name to Aimee Mann-Lennon-McCartney). Her Beatles-y (I refuse to say “Beatlesque” so shoot me) sound is what drew me to her. Listen to any track on Magnolia especially, but any track on any album – you’ll hear it. The way Aimee does it, it’s magical. She should have been the sixth Beatle!

But I digress. Aimee is non-stop, hardcore, quite scarily talented in her own right. She can rhyme every third word and it still not only makes sense, but is the most clever thing you’ve heard to date. Her voice is lovely, velvety, but unusual and stylistic, which is perhaps why she’s not the superstar she should be. I’m on an Aimee kick currently and have a whole playlist developed on my iPod.

My songwriting partner, Heather, introduced me to Aimee’s solo work. I hadn’t thought much about Aimee Mann at all since the early 80’s; I was blown away. Heather and I went to the Lilith Fair – quiet, now! – with our friends Sharon, April, and Tina. I was on the other side of the grounds, far away from them when I found out that Aimee was on the second stage (to this DAY I can’t believe they regulated her to SECOND stage, but that’s neither here nor there). We hadn’t even known she’d be there! I flipped OUT and flew helter-skelter back to our little picnic patch, out of breath, panting…”Huh-huh-heather…huh huh… Aimee huh huh Mann is ONTHESECONDSTAGEOMYGODWEGOTTAGETTHERENOW!” Terrified that we’d miss her set Heather and I took off leaving our girlfriends to stumble along behind us in their not-quite-broken-in Tevas. We made it with about 5 songs to spare. Our friends didn’t let us forget about their blisters for months afterward, but hey! Aimee Mann!

Heather recently tried to get us tickets to Aimee’s show at the Lowell Memorial, but I’m not the only one out there that appreciates pate’…there is a very strong Aimee Mann fan base, and it’s almost impossible to get tickets as she typically plays to small venues.

If you haven’t ever checked her out, you really should. I recommend “Magnolia” to begin with – I really do think it’s one of her best albums ever. “Bachelor #2” is a close second, and “I’m With Stupid” coming in third. She has many albums though so if you’re feeling adventurous, just close your eyes and click the mouse.

Exquisite rhymes await you.

Following are the lyrics to one of my all-time favorites. I love it on so many levels, but if you know me at all, you’ll see straight away why it holds a spot in my heart. Enjoy!

Momentum, Aimee Mann

Oh, for the sake of momentum
I’ve allowed my fears to get larger than life
And it’s brought me to my current agendum
Whereupon I deny fulfillment has yet to arrive

And I know life is getting shorter
I can’t bring myself to set the scene
Even when it’s approaching torture
I’ve got my routine

Oh, for the sake of momentum
Even though I agree with that stuff about seizing the day
But I hate to think of effort expended
All those minutes and days and hours
I have frittered away.

And I know life is getting shorter
I can’t bring myself to set the scene
Even when it’s approaching torture
I’ve got my routine

But I can’t confront the doubts I have
I can’t admit that maybe the past was bad
And so, for the sake of momentum
I’m condemning the future to death
So it can match the past.

when I can’t confront the doubts I have
I can’t admit that maybe the past was bad
And so, for the sake of momentum
I’m condemning the future to death
So it can match the past.

Responses

  1. Upon further review of “Bachelor #2” I have concluded that Aimee must have temporarily abandoned the Beatles for Bacharach.


Leave a Reply

Categories

